Contact Us

Nothing More, 2017 Loudwire Music Awards Performer


Nothing More are one of the acts set to perform a the Loudwire Music Awards, Oct. 24, at The Novo in L.A.

Throw out any talk of overnight success. It’s been a long and hard-earned road for Texas boys Nothing More en route to their breakthrough. Formed in 2003 in San Antonio, Nothing More had released four full length albums before the bigger labels started calling.

Frontman Jonny Hawkins and guitarist Mark Vollelunga have been there since the beginning, with bassist Daniel Oliver joining a year into the band’s existence and it’s this core trio that helped shape the sound of where the group is at today. Also helping in their ascension is the fact that live wire frontman Jonny Hawkins moved out from behind the kit and took on vocals full time starting with 2009’s The Few Not Fleeting album.

While that album, their fourth overall, did generate the songs “Gone” and “Waiting on Rain,” it was a four-year wait between discs in which the band dedicated themselves to taking that next step in their journey. They eventually garnered interest from Eleven Seven Music, who realized that the group was primed with an album that had the potential to go deep and do well for the band.

In 2013, a full decade after their formation, the band had that breakout they’d longed for. “This Is the Time (Ballast)” was the song that did it for them, leading off their self-titled album and introducing the group to many new fans. Songs like “Mr. MTV,” “Jenny” and “Here’s to the Heartache” kept them on the airwaves over the next year, while their live show also generated plenty of buzz.

With Hawkins’ move from the kit to the front of the stage now fully realized, the singer is one of the more energetic and animated vocalists you’ll see in the scene today. Meanwhile, Vollelunga, Oliver and current drummer Ben Anderson make sure the power and intensity of their music translates to the stage for a truly engaging performance. Add in the emergence of “The Bassinator,” a sight that must be seen, and Nothing More provide one of the better live experiences in modern rock.

After emerging with their self-titled album in 2013, Nothing More are primed to establish themselves amongst rock’s elite. The group recently released “Go to War,” a purely primal rocker that ranks among the year’s best songs. It’s featured on their new album The Stories We Tell Ourselves, which is due Sept. 15 via Better Noise and also features the songs “Let ‘Em Burn,” “Don’t Stop” and “Just Say When.” This self-produced collection promises an even brighter future for Nothing More.

Nothing More, “Go to War”

Subscribe to Loudwire on

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here